Intelligent Battery Heating

Plodalong

Standard Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG4 SE SR
I haven’t found much about battery heating from the manual. It seems it’s a good idea to start heating 30 minutes before fast charging to improve the charge speed. And I sometimes get an alert to advise battery heating as the ambient temperature is low. But considering the high load imposed by heating, are the efficiency benefits worth it? Any info gratefully received from a newbie.

As someone who'll be commuting circa 90 miles a day I'd be really interested to see if anyone has done any real world studies and narrowed down the kinda mileage you need to travel for the benefit to outweigh the initial battery loss through heating.

Another newbie here. Yesterday morning I took my car to the public charging point at the end of my road and left it there on the CCS charger for 52 minutes during which it moved from 45% charged to 92% charged. I then drove it back home and parked it in the drive. THEN the car popped up a message saying it was a bit cold out and did I want to turn on battery heating?

What's the point of that? I've seen that message before, but I have no idea how to turn on battery heating at a time of my choosing rather than when the car suggests it. The car doesn't know I'm thinking about charging it in half an hour or so, and yesterday the message came up after I'd finished charging it.

Last edited:
As a man who's love a bit of factual date to pour over it would be great if mg could produce a multi axis chart that shows energy expenditure on one axis from differing ambient temperatures to the desired battery pack temp with ascending mileage on the other axis to cross reference the break even point even incorporating the differences of predetermined average miles perKwh