• We are having a problem with new Hotmail members being unable to receive activation emails. Please avoid using a Hotmail email address. Thanks.

Upgrading the audio system (lots of pictures)

Hi, I've been following social groups and forums in trying to find any walkthroughs or how-to's when it comes to upgrading the audio. A lot of people says only an active sub is enough and other are content with only a EQ preset. I went ahead and splurged on some new "hifi" parts convincing myself whatever I saved in buying such a high value car can be justified for audio equipment.

I also wanted to try to document as much I could on the way so maybe others can do the same. My car is a left-hand driving, so I don't know how much is reversed for people in the UK.

Btw I had no experience in car-audio (im a nurse), everything I did I learned through watching youtube videos. Had never popped off a car panel in my life until I tried this.

Disclamer: I don't take any responsibility if your car is diffrent or if you break something.

Part list:
Amplifier: Match PP86DSP
Adapter harness: Match PP-AC88

Subwoofer: Match PP 10E-Q
Front speakers: Focal PS165FE Flax Evo
Adapter rings: 3D-printed at home; Thingiverse link

Door kit: Ground Zero Doorkit pro

Preparations for the install.
Since no one online could post pics of whats behind the EU head unit, I had to find out myself. Turns out the EU model is using a "quadlock" type to connect. The stock amp pulls power through pin 15+16 of the ISO-plug part. The speaker wiring seem to use standard ISO wiring. I also noticed there is plenty of space around the heady unit on both left and right side, but not big enough to put the PP86DSP amp in there. Maybe a small compact amp could fit in there.
j7cCrQQb.jpg
yAY80Snb.jpg

Installing the amp