BingBong

Established Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG4 Trophy LR
Hi, I am a low mileage driver. I picked up my trophy at 99%, went down to 30% and then charged to 80%. The dealer told me that i need to go to 10% at the first time and then charge to 100% for balance charging.

The reason that I only charged to 80% its because someone said at MG community Facebook that the car also does a balance charge at 80%. Is it true? There is a difference between 80% balance charging to 100%?

Last edited by a moderator:
what the dealer told you is correct.
True the car will balance at the percentage you specify.
But every once I a while it’s good for the Battery Management System to be told what 10% and 100% voltages are, for all cells.
Which can only happen at the real 100% rather than a guessed 80%.

It does balance at 80%, mine did this yesterday
The idea of doing a balance charge is to get any cells that are not charging to their full potential of 100% to do so. If you never balance at 100% then 80% will become the batteries maximum capacity.

The idea of doing a balance charge is to get any cells that are not charging to their full potential of 100% to do so. If you never balance at 100% then 80% will become the batteries maximum capacity.
So do you recommend to wait until 10% and go to 100% (186 total mileage)?

Once in a while (every 6 months or so) - yes. (<10% to 100% and balance)

Every month take it to 100% (from wherever it was at) so it can balance.

Normal day-to-day driving - charge to 80% or whatever you feel comfortable with.

(The above applies for LR and ER models only ... SR model can simply be charged to 100% every time [on an AC charger]).

Once in a while (every 6 months or so) - yes. (<10% to 100% and balance)

Every month take it to 100% (from wherever it was at) so it can balance.

Normal day-to-day driving - charge to 80% or whatever you feel comfortable with.