Zappi has me stumped

dsr

Established Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG4 Trophy ER
Background: I have my new MG4 and Zappi. I have solar panels, with a GivEnergy 5.2kWh battery. I have signed up to Octopus GO. I am not technical and simply want to charge my car during the Octopus Go 0030 to 0430 cheap period.
Charging via the MG4: Did this as a first attempt = perfect scheduled charging.
As for the Zappi, I am bamboozled. I have read lots of stuff, often contradictory and some of it beyond my simple understanding. I set up the Zappi with a scheduled charge. Myenergi posts suggest I can schedule via either Eco (which I take to be Eco and one leaf on the Zappi) or Eco+ (Eco and two leaves). When I select Eco the charge starts = no wait for the scheduled time, so I guess this isn't the way. If I choose Eco+, the car shows "Connecting" and the Zappi a "Waiting for surplus" message. I have read about "Waiting for surplus", but it is double dutch to me.
Is there a simple way for me to set a Zappi schedule without this error message? What settings on the Zappi might I need to change?

Remove the schedule in the car

Set the Zappi like the attached picture.

Waiting for surplus is not an error.

Make sure that the car is plugged in!

It'll sit there till 00:30 and start changing.

Good luck.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20231108-164648.png
    Screenshot_20231108-164648.png
    291.1 KB · Views: 90
Background: I have my new MG4 and Zappi. I have solar panels, with a GivEnergy 5.2kWh battery. I have signed up to Octopus GO. I am not technical and simply want to charge my car during the Octopus Go 0030 to 0430 cheap period.