Do any quality manufacturers offer 12v batteries for MG4?

GameZone

Established Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG4 Trophy LR
I want another 12v battery in my garage, but quality manufacturers like Varta and Bosch obviously doesn't have it. Is the only option another battery from MG itself, or are there alternatives?

The battery in the mg4 wont be a unique form factor, have you checked the battery to see if it has the size code on it
Screenshot_2023-10-03-14-43-16-222_com.android.chrome.jpg

The battery in the mg4 wont be a unique form factor, have you checked the battery to see if it has the size code on itView attachment 20516
Thanks that helpful. No haven't checked yet. Can any 12v battery with this size be used?

Will this work?

Do anyone know if that Varta battery will workbwith my M4?

Last edited:
I’m not an expert in this, but car batteries are typically designed for delivering a large amount of power for a short time to crank start the ICE. The EV 12v batteries may have different specs for the different load type.

I’d just do some research first.

I’m not an expert in this, but car batteries are typically designed for delivering a large amount of power for a short time to crank start the ICE. The EV 12v batteries may have different specs for the different load type.

That's what I'm trying to do.

I suppose if the heater is on, it could draw quite a lot, presumably from the 12v side. Not as much, or for as short a duration as engine cranking, but probably rules out using something like a lithium battery for this, apart from the different recharge regime.

The needs of the stop start specced batteries are akin to the uses of our EVs which is why brands like varta are rejigging their current lineup descriptions to include EV terminology

So basically what I was getting at but forgot to say is get the largest amp hour capacity stop start battery you can fit and afford